Farm Beginnings: Year-Long Farmer Training

Curriculum & Schedule for Farm Beginnings® 

2016-2017 Farm Beginnings® Training Includes 180+ Hours:  

Print out the full year long Schedule here.

Read the Winter Course Descriptions here.

I think the biggest thing we’ve walked away with from Farm Beginnings is that we came in with this really romantic idea of becoming a farmer. Get the land, get in the ground, and get going and we have realized that it is a much larger endeavor and we need more practical experience before really taking on one of those ventures for ourselves. So I am incredibly grateful to the FB program for teaching me and showing me.

Angie

Farm Beginnings Graduate

Organic Growers School’s Farm Beginnings Farmer Training Program, 2016-2017 Schedule
Dates: Topics: Hrs.
Saturday, October 15, 2016 Winter Session 1: Orientation, Syllabus/Calendar Review, Goals, Introductions 7
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 Winter Session 2: Holistic Management 3
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 Winter Session 3: Intro to Business/ Economy of Scale 3
Saturday, November 19, 2016 Winter Session 4: Intro to Food Systems & Agroecology 1 & Soils 7
Wednesday, November 30, 2016 Winter Session 5: Financial Planning 101 3
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 Winter Session 6: Financial Planning 102 3
Wednesday, January 11, 2017 Winter Session 7: Operating a Farm Business, Start-up & Capitalization, Legal, Taxes 3
Saturday, January 21, 2017 Winter Session 8: Agroecology 2 Ecosystem Process #1 & #2 7
Winter Session 8: Financial Planning 103
Wednesday, February 1, 2017 Winter Session 9: Marketing 3
Saturday, February 11, 2017 Winter Session 10: Agroecology 3 Ecosystem Process #3 & #4 7
Winter Session 10: Land Access & Land Management/Use
Saturday, February 25, 2017 ASAP’s Business of Farming Conference 8
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Winter Session 11: Realities from the Field – Buyer & Farmer Panel 3
Friday, March 10, 2017 OGS Spring Conference: Pre-Conference Workshops 8
Saturday, March 11, 2017 OGS Spring Conference: Beginning Farmer Track 8
Sunday, March 12, 2017 OGS Spring Conference: Beginning Farmer Track 8
Wednesday, March 15, 2017 Snow Day
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 Growing Season Learning Plan Workday 3
April Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
May Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
June Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
April-November Date TBD SAHC Workshop Series – 7-10 Workshops throughout the summer & fall months 14
July Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
August Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
September Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
September 1, 2017 Due Date for Farm Proposals & Growing Season Learning Plans
Friday, September 8, 2017 OGS Harvest Conference: Pre-Conference Workshops 8
Saturday, September 9, 2017 OGS Harvest Conference 8
Saturday, September 16, 2017 Presentations & Graduation Celebration 8
October Date TBD CRAFT Tour, Topic & Location TBD 4
Home Study Hours for Certification 50
Total # of Hours: 200

Location: Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy Incubator Farm at 180 Mag Sluder Rd. Alexander, NC 28701 (just 15 minutes from Asheville, NC) – View map here.

OGS Farmer Programs are made possible by our farmer network and funding in part by the Community Foundation of WNC,  CLIF Bar Family Foundation, Organic Valley, Simply 1%, Carolina Farm Credit, French Broad Food Co-op, and by the Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program of USDA-NIFA, Grant #2016-70017-25341